In 2017 The Grange won funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund to create a Heritage Room to make our heritage collection available to the public for the first time. See Heritage Lottery Grant news item On 25th September 2018 we had the honour of being visited by our patron, HRH..Read More
In the 1970s, the name of the charity was changed to The Grange Centre to reflect our wider range of activities. We became a Registered Care Home in the 1980s with the aid of funding from the Housing Corporation. At the same time, a Housing Association was formed to provide..Read More
Queen Mary was a great supporter of The School of Stitchery and Lace and ordered lingerie items and night gowns as well as Christmas gifts. The monogrammed nightgown shown here is a sample made for her by the students. She liked it so much she ordered another 12. It now..Read More
During the Second World War the army took over outbuildings around the main house. Weaving was suspended because materials became unobtainable although tapestry work continued. The girls were employed in repairing military equipment and carpet mending was introduced. A number of ex-trainees were employed in direct war work such as..Read More
The School’s students earned a reputation for exquisite workmanship and royal commissions followed. Queen Mary had nightdresses made and Eleanor Roosevelt had some smocks sent over to the USA – an early example of mail order!
Our work began in 1927 when Miss Julia Sweet, a pioneer in the teaching and training of disabled people, founded the School of Stitchery and Lace in Leicestershire. She wanted to give nurses injured in the First World War a means of earning their living. The charity moved to Bookham..Read More